RISING TO THE CHALLENGE | BLOGTOBER

IMG_20170114_101746_521

I heard about Blogtober approximately thirty minutes ago when I saw Amy’s blog post on the topic. Immediately I was intrigued, and, after a short while of deliberation on pretence, I decided to jump right in.

I’ve been thinking a lot about productivity and time-management lately, and have been considering how I spend my time for the past couple of years. After watching some of Lavendaire‘s videos on YouTube, I was inspired to log my daily hours and the tasks that I do, to free up my time and be more productive. One thing that I was stuck for, though? What to do with all of that time.

Once you take away work, chores and other commitments, there’s still quite a lot of time left over, and it’s up to you to decide how to fill it. For me, that was always going to include knitting, but the rest required some thought. I was able to think about reviving some of the things I used to do, that have been lost by the wayside during a ‘busy’ life, like this blog right here.

I’ve been dabbling with writing more already lately, and I’ve been keen to get into some kind of routine that will allow me to post regularly. I love to write, it’s a great process for me and it keeps my brain active, but without committing the time to it, it’s easy for me not to bother.

Which is why Blogtober was so instantly appealing to me. Committing to posting once a day for a month? It’s enough to fulfil that motivation I’ve been looking for, but not so much that it feels unachievable.

I’ve already been brainstorming ideas for posts, and I’m planning to book in writing sessions to get through a few at a time so I don’t actually have to write every day. I’m also looking to step outside of my comfort zone, and try things that I haven’t done before. Who knows, maybe I’ll find inspiration in the unlikeliest of places?

However it goes, I’m excited and ready to rise to the challenge! Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

