To The Women I Love

I am the product of the people I choose to surround myself with. I don’t just mean the five closest people like the experts say, I mean every single person I choose to have in my life and in my online space. Everything that I have seen and read, every interaction that I have had, has gone some way into making me the person that I am in this very moment. Whether it’s something that I value and want to emulate for myself, or something that jars with me and serves to show me what I don’t want to be, I consider myself moulded by each experience in one way or another.

I have been thoroughly shaped into the person that I am today by the people who have impacted upon me. I have been bolstered and influenced by the characteristics of the people I admire, and of those I don’t. And while those people are so numerous that it would be impossible to remember them all, let alone name them, I want to take a moment to express a little gratitude to some of the women who have helped.

Amy, thank you for encouraging me to learn more about things. To read, and read, and read some more and to let the things you discover make you passionate. Thank you for showing me how to treat your friends, and how to make everyone feel like a part of your family.

Cindy, thank you for teaching me how to value people, and how to show them how much you do. Thank you for showing me how to be a great leader, and to earn respect and trust. Thank you for showing me the importance of team work, and how it really does make the dream work.

Emmeline, thank you for teaching me that struggles, though long and difficult, can have such magnificent purpose. Thank you for showing me that passion can be unwavering and that there really are things worth fighting for with all of your might. Thank you for the progress.

Hannah, thank you for creating the most awesome girl gang. Thank you for showing me how we can make a difference to the people whose lives we touch. Thank you for showing me that we can do things for ourselves, that we can make those changes and that we matter.

Megan, thank you for teaching me to care about the issues I don’t see. Thank you for opening my eyes to the things I haven’t experienced for myself, and helping me to learn how to tackle them. Thank you for showing me the true meaning of inclusivity.

Michelle, thank you for teaching me the power of grace. Thank you for showing me the importance of knowledge, understanding and communication. Thank you for teaching me to do what good I can, and how to bring other people along with me on the journey.

Sophia, thank you for showing me strength. Thank you for teaching me how to love fiercely and unconditionally and how to show unwavering support. Thank you for showing me how to challenge stereotypes, and how to stay true to yourself through all that’s thrown your way.

These women are but a handful of the hundreds, if not thousands, of people who have touched my life in some way or another. Each moment I have shared with them has helped get me to here, and I couldn’t be more grateful.

Thank you, all.

Leave a Reply

