This Time Next Year

img_20161123_153054

I think it might be a little early to start reviewing the past year and thinking about 2017, but I’m coming to the end of my week off and it’s given me time to think about this kind of stuff. Until now I’ve been powering from one day to the next and not even really realising that the time is passing. Now, I can’t quite believe that December’s here and before we know it another year will be checked off and we’re onto the next.

2016 has been kind to me. Nothing terrible has happened to me, and that can only be a good thing, right?

The problem I have, though, is that I can’t quite pinpoint what has actually happened.

Aside from a summer holiday to Cornwall, a brief stay in Brighton and a family get-together right at the start of the year, I’m struggling to remember what I’ve done. There have been lots of trips to Tesco, lots of Domino’s Pizza and lots of days at my desk. But what else?

So it’s with this in mind that I’m looking now to 2017. I don’t know where I’ll be this time next year, but I do know how I want to get there.

I want to get there by making memories. By really valuing the time I get with the people I love, and the people I meet.

I want to get there by going on adventures. I want to see more of my little corner of the world, spend days outside, find new places and be spontaneous.

I want to get there by learning new things. Pick up new skills, do a course, read more.

I want to get there by spending my time well. Remember how valuable those minutes are and do your very best with them.

I want to get there by asking myself what’s good for me, and being honest about the answer.

I want to get there by taking risks. Not always playing the safe card and really being committed.

I want to get there by making change. Taking action when there’s something I’m not happy with, and enjoying the results instead of resenting the issue.

So, while I don’t know where ‘there’ is, I’m sure going to enjoy the journey.

{Find me on InstagramTwitter, Pinterest and Bloglovin’}

2 thoughts on “This Time Next Year

Leave a Reply

