On Spending Time, Not Wasting It

On Spending Time, Not Wasting It.jpg

They say that we all have the same number of hours in a day as Beyoncé, and y’know what? They’re right.

We all get the same 24 hours in every day, and it’s up to us what we choose to do with those hours. Will I ever be as productive as Beyoncé? Doubt it. But then again I don’t get to have a literal entourage follow me around everywhere I go, so it’s swings and roundabouts, I guess.

What I do know, or at least I’m learning, is that time is valuable. Like really, really, valuable. Once it’s gone, that’s it. It’s actually gone forever and there’s zero chance of you getting it back.

What I’m getting at here, is that I’m fed up of wasting my time. I’m fed up of looking back on my days and weeks and genuinely not being able to remember what happened. I think my hours are draining away in a semi-aware state of working, Netflix marathons and social media scrolling. I wonder how much of my life I have given to screens? Too much.

I’m trying to train myself to think about my time. To believe that it is a valuable resource and to budget it as much as I budget my money. Money’s always tight, but time seems infinite. The thing is, it’s not. And while you can always find ways to get more money, you can’t ever get more time.

Which is why I’m changing the way I talk about time. The way we define things can have a huge impact on the way we think and act about them, so I’m only ever going to refer to doing things as spending my time. To me, spending is exchanging something of value for something else of value. Like time.

So while there’s always stuff to be doing with my time, some of it out of necessity, I want to start to bring value to all of my transactions. Gotta do the ironing (yeah, I’m one of those people who irons everything)? Then listen to a podcast or TED talk and learn something at the same time. Desperate to catch up on the latest Bake Off, because there’s a Bake Off on all of the time these days? Do something with your hands while you’re at it. Knitting anyone?

And then there’s those expanses of time that pass by without much warning and before you know it you’ve been up for hours but somehow you’ve, quite literally, done nothing. That’s where my favourite little pal comes in – the humble to do list. Writing down a list of everything that I want and need to get done is the best motivation for me to actually get on and do it. If it’s not on paper, it’s so easy to forget, or think I can do it another time. But when there’s a little empty box next to it, just waiting for a tick, it’s the metaphorical kick up the ass I need to keep doing things.

So I’m gonna wrap this up here, and go and do something a little different, but equally valuable, with my oh-so precious time.

Catch ya later!

{Find me on InstagramTwitter, Pinterest and Bloglovin’}

Leave a Reply

