{ Recipe } Lucy Bee Pancakes: 3 Ways

1459780897629

For me, breakfast is the hardest meal of the day. It’s super easy to knock up a lunch or dinner that is, for the most part, healthy. Breakfast…not so much. I know that it’s ‘the most important meal of the day’, and what you eat first thing in the morning really does affect how you feel for the hours to follow, but sometimes it’s just easier to slather a bagel in Nutella and be done with it.

Lately I’ve been making a really concerted effort to improve my breakfast habits and give myself the start to the day that I know I really need. I still need something to inspire me to spend a little time in the kitchen first thing, so I’m not 100% super healthy yet, but I’m giving myself a much better shot than I’ve had before!

My latest go-to for a good breakfast that gives me the energy I need to get through to lunch is healthy pancakes. I love pancakes. Simple ones with a sprinkle of sugar, sweet treats with strawberries and Nutella, and even some stacked with bacon and maple syrup. But those aren’t good for me, and neither is the Be-Ro recipe I’ve used since I was a wee one to make them. I’ve had a long, hate-hate relationship with healthy pancake recipes, and I just couldn’t find one I could get on board with…until now.

I’m thanking my lucky stars for Lucy Bee and her take on healthy pancakes from her cookbook, Coconut Oil – Nature’s Perfect Ingredient. It’s a simple recipe that’s open to customisation, and fills me right up. Plus, they taste great!

To make the pancakes you will need…

  • 1 banana
  • 2 eggs
  • 40g oats (alternatively you can use quinoa flakes or buckwheat flour)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Lucy Bee coconut oil

Method

Pop all of the ingredients, apart from the coconut oil, in a blender (I use my NutriBullet) and blend together until smooth.

Melt the coconut oil in a small frying pan, pour the mixture in batches to make small pancakes and fry for a couple of minutes on each side until cooked.

I told you it was simple!

Now it’s time to experiment with different toppings! Here are 3 of my favourites…

A handful of frozen raspberries and a drizzle of honey

IMG_20160323_093501

A dollop of Nutella and a sprinkling of dessicated coconut

IMG_20160330_084333

A spoonful of greek yoghurt, cinnamon fried apple and a handful of fruit and nut mix

IMG_20160404_153409

What’s your favourite pancake topping? Do you have any ideas for a healthy breakfast you can share?

Thanks for reading, until next time!

SignOff

{Find me on InstagramFacebookTwitter and Bloglovin’}

Leave a Reply

