I’ll Make A Reader Of Me Yet

12509809_10153355961517957_8173249884712294761_n

Over the years I’ve had conflicting attitudes to reading. When I was young, you’d find it impossible to get my attention over Jacqueline Wilson. I devoured her books for years and even spent one World Book Day dressed as the Illustrated Mum, COVERED in temporary tattoos. After that, Harry Potter took my attention, and the Lord of the Rings, but, aside from re-reading the aforementioned, I didn’t get much further. I’ve dabbled over recent years with a book here and there but I could still go months without turning a page.

What I have to remind myself, though, is that I really enjoy reading…when I get around to it! I love the feeling of getting lost in a book, in another world with characters unknown. I love the quiet when I read, the peace and tranquility. It relaxes me, it inspires me, it rejuvenates me. So I’m on a mission to read more!

For Christmas I asked for books, and books I received. I’ve re-ignited my GoodReads account and I’ve gladly inherited a secondhand Kindle – I am all set! I’m even including scheduled ‘reading’ blocks in my Daily Greatness planning so I have no excuse! My plan is to read 26 books this year. It may not sound like very much (Amy is aiming for 101!) but it’s a solid goal for me. That means I should be averaging a book every two weeks and so far, I’m on track.

I don’t think I’ll get into the habit of reviewing my books. I’m pretty easy to satisfy, so if I found enjoyment in the read it’s all good with me. I’m not one to read between the lines, pick apart the narrative or consider the characters, I’ll just take a few minutes of quiet escapism, thank you very much.

So far this year I have worked my way through In Order To Live by Yeonmi Park, Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert and find myself currently devouring Suffragette: My Own Story by Emmeline Pankhurst. It’s a wordy read but, somewhat surprisingly, I am enjoying it very much.

I still have a few books on my to-read pile, but I am constantly on the look-out for more! If you have any suggestions at all (I really am up for giving anything a go!) please drop a comment with details!

Thanks for reading, until next time!

SignOff

{Find me on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and Bloglovin’}

Leave a Reply

