#BEDM Challenge: Newsflash! Jamie’s Food Revolution

Jamie Quote

If you’ve been on the Internet over the past few days, the likelihood is that you’ve seen #FoodRevolutionDay somewhere about. With over a million signatures and more celebrity endorsements than you can shake a stick at, Jamie Oliver’s petition has seen people unite over the need for better education for children, to teach them where their food comes from and how it affects their bodies.

I wholeheartedly agree that this issue needs to be addressed. From an education standpoint, I think there is a very apparent lack of life-skills education across the whole spectrum. Speaking from personal experience, I believe that schools have a duty to help children understand food, how it can affect their health, and the consequences that poor diet can have in the long run. The year I started secondary school they changed the only food technology room into science room number 7, abolishing the subject and, I believe, leaving me and my classmates lacking a key part of our education.

I believe that knowledge is power, and that understanding food at a young age will  give children the power to live healthier lives. When I was younger, I didn’t really understand what was in my food, and how it could affect me. If I could get away with having crisps and chocolate bars instead of a proper lunch I would, and I cringe to think how high my sugar intake was with all of those bottles of Sunny D. At an age when you’re developing at such a rate, I can’t begin to comprehend the difference a healthy, balanced diet could make, and that’s why education is so important.

One of the most shocking statistics from this campaign is that children today are the first generation predicted to live shorter lives than their parents. That is not OK. If you agree, please get on board and sign the petition by clicking here. You’ll be saving lives.

Also, if you’re older but would still like to learn about nutrition and health, there’s a free Vision 2 Learn course that can complete from home here.

Thanks for reading, until next time!

SignOff

{Find me on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and Bloglovin’}

Leave a Reply

