#BEDM Challenge: How Vintage Inspires My Style

trio-of-outfits

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always loved vintage. I used to spend the school holidays trawling the vintage stalls at Camden for a bargain, and started to stock up on my vintage clothes and accessories quite early. While my small budget meant that I tended to opt for lower quality items (many of which have, unfortunately, not seen me through to today!), it started a fire within me that I don’t think I’ll ever be able to put out.

One of my favourite things about vintage is that the pieces are one-of-a-kind. For both my year 11 and 13 school balls I wore vintage dresses and it was wonderful! For a start one cost me £7 and the other £5, but I also knew that no one else would be wearing the same, and I treasure them to this day. I like to be different, to shy away from the crowd and to use style as a way to present my personality to the outside world, and vintage is perfect for that.

While I admire and love those who dress in full vintage with hair and make up to suit, it’s not something that I can relate to. I am more of a pick’n’mixer. I like to take a vintage piece and style it with my modern wardrobe staples. The combination is what makes it ‘me’, and the experimentation is a constant inspiration. I’ve put together three outfits combining  my favourite vintage and High Street pieces, which I feel reflect different aspects of my personality.

DSC03466

{ Polka Dot Tapered Trousers – Vintage }

{ Cropped Crochet Jumper – Topshop }

{ Mini Rucksack – Charity Shop }

{ White Sandals – New Look }

DSC03441

{ Monochrome Dress – Vintage }

{ Pork Pie Hat – Topshop }

{ Shoulder Bag – Vintage }

{ Patent Shoes – Tamaris @ Fenwick }

DSC03447

{ Floral Blazer – Vintage }

{ Blue Jamie Jeans – Topshop }

{ Patent Ankle Boots – Marks & Spencer }

{ Bangle Stack – Assorted Vintage }

Tell me about your style inspirations. Do you love vintage or High Street or both? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading, until next time!

SignOff

{Find me on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and Bloglovin’}

7 thoughts on “#BEDM Challenge: How Vintage Inspires My Style

Leave a Reply

