#BEDM Challenge: Special Talents

striped-crop-top

Talented isn’t really a word I would use to describe myself. Actually, when I think about it, I’m not sure that there are many positive words that I would use to describe myself. It’s not that I don’t like myself, I think I’m pretty ace, but self-praise just isn’t something I’m used to, and I think that’s the same for quite a lot of people. It took me a while to decide what to write for this post. At points I thought it was too hard, and was close to giving up and picking a different topic, but I challenged myself to use all of the set topics and so I will!

I’m not talented in the typical sense, I can’t sing or dance or act and nothing I do would earn me a spot on Britain’s Got Talent, but there are things I can do that I’m proud of. I’m good with my hands; I can make things. From knitting to origami, I think I’m a fair crafter, but the talent part goes a little deeper. I’d say my talent is actually being able to balance that creative, hands-on side of myself with my logical organised brain. The combination of these two things helps me to learn things quickly, and to teach myself. I can learn from video tutorials, from books and from my own powers of deduction, and I think that’s pretty cool.

So I wanted to share a few of the things that I’ve made with you, in the form of this little outfit.

outfit-build-shorts-crop-top-clutch-bag-lipstick

The shorts I altered from a pair of vintage Levi’s jeans I found on eBay. I just chopped off the legs, turned them up and I was good to go.

The top I knitted from a retro 1980s pattern I found in a charity shop. I’d never knit stripes before, but with a quick search on YouTube I was able to find a technique that was easy for me to pick up.

striped-crop-top striped-crop-top-close striped-crop-top-pattern

The necklace was an old piece of chain I found in a junk shop. All I did was tie it with ribbon and I could wear it. It’s not exactly something I made, but it’s great to find something that someone considers to be rubbish and turn it into a much-loved accessory!

The clutch bag is my latest project, crocheted from Boodles textile yarn. My only previous experience with crochet was granny squares, which teach you to chain stitch and treble crochet but not much else. I just got on with a little experimentation, and managed to finish this within a few hours.

crochet-clutch-bag crochet-clutch-bag-close-up

So it’s not exactly talent, but I’ve made things that I’m proud of and I think that’s great. What are your special talents? Are you talented in the traditional sense, or do you have a more obscure talent to share? Let me know in the comments.

Thanks for reading, until next time!

SignOff

{Find me on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and Bloglovin’}

Leave a Reply

