{Sweet Saturday} Paul Hollywood’s Scones

Scones with jam and creamA couple of weeks ago I was lucky enough to go to Paul Hollywood’s tour in Croydon. I’ll admit, I was a little unsure what to expect from a baker’s tour (I’m more experienced in tours of the musical kind) but I was really pleasantly surprised! From the very start I was picking up loads of handy baking tips, and while my Dad said it would have been lame, I am a bit gutted I didn’t take a notebook!

One of Paul’s tips that I was desperate to try was using strong bread flour for scones instead of plain flour. He guaranteed better results (my first attempt at scones, while tasty, turned out to be more like biscuits!) so I was dying to give it a go!

I used this recipe from The Great British Bake Off – I figured if I’m using Paul’s tips I might as well use his recipe too!

Baking ingredients for scones

Scone dough with cutter

(I got a bit carried away and forgot to take pictures for most of the process!)

I did find myself unsure of whether I was ‘chaffing’ the mixture enough or too much, but I’d say just go on gut instinct and you should be fine!

I also folded some sultanas through the mixture as I prefer a fruit scone.

Scones on tray before baking

After baking for 13 minutes, the scones were looking pretty good! They seem to have risen more on one side than the other, so in the future I’ll turn them half way through the baking time to try and even them out.

Freshly baked scones

Serve with lashings of strawberry jam and a good dollop of clotted cream for a truly indulgent treat!

Scones with jam and cream

Thanks for reading, until next time!

SignOff

{Find me on Facebook, Twitter and Bloglovin’}

Leave a Reply

