DIY Miniature MDF Heart Garland

DSC03321Lately I’ve been nursing an obsession for home decorations – I just can’t get enough of cushions and garlands and all of those extra little touches that make your house personal! Today I’ll be sharing with you my DIY miniature heart garland. It’s pretty simple but totally cute, and the perfect way to add a little love to your home!

You will need:

  • MDF hearts (I got mine here)
  • Tester paints
  • Small paint brush
  • String
  • Scissors
  • Tape measure
  • Bodkin needle

1. Choose how many hearts you’d like to use for your garland. I used 9 and my garland measures around 130cm.DSC03305

2. Paint each of your hearts with a couple of coats, leaving to dry in between. Make sure you paint the fronts, backs and sides for a neat finish! I used tester pots in varying shades of pink, but you can choose any colour scheme to suit your home!DSC03310

DSC03311

DSC03313

3. Once dry, it’s time to thread your hearts! Measure a length of string generously longer than you want your final garland to be. I cut a length of 2m to ensure I had plenty to work with. Thread your string though a bodkin needle and then start stringing your hearts. Push the needle from the back to the front of the heart, and then return the needle from the front to the back, holding onto the loop in the front.DSC03317

Pull your heart along the string until it is in the right place (I placed my hearts 15cm apart). Push the heart through the loop, bottom first, and tighten the string to secure it in place.DSC03320

4. Once all of your hearts have been strung, trim any excess string and tie loops on both ends to hang it. There, you have it, your simple heart garland!DSC03319

The best thing about this DIY is that it’s so easy to change up for different kinds of decorations! Why not get some egg shaped MDF pieces and decorate them for Easter or (dare I say it?) Christmas trees when the festive season next rolls around? There’s so many shapes available on ebay, so let your creative spirit run wild!

What do you think to this DIY? Is it something you’d try for yourself, and if you do, let me know how you get on!

Thanks for reading, until next time!

SignOff

{Find me on FacebookTwitter and Bloglovin’}

Leave a Reply

