Oh My, I’m Inspired By Something Beginning With…

letterMy alphabet of inspiration is back this week with the 7th letter, and G is for…games.

In an age where the internet dictates so much of our lives, I find myself whiling away the hours reading blogs, watching countless YouTube videos of cute and/or funny cats, Pinning all sorts and Stumbling Upon even more. While I love the Internet (and I really do!) I think it’s important to check out and do something physical. I don’t mean exercise (though that’s great, too!), I mean to engage with something that’s literally in front of you, that you can touch and share with others. For me, I love to get my physical fix from games of the board variety. And I also love jigsaw puzzles.DSC03291

There’s nothing quite like spending an afternoon with loved ones getting stuck into a game or puzzle. For one, you actually get to use your brain a bit (something which I feel I don’t do nearly enough!), and it’s a great way to get back to basics and connect without a computer, tablet or phone screen in the way! Plus, you can get games and puzzles for as cheap as chips in charity shops, so it’s a perfect way to have some fun without breaking the bank!

While it’s cool having new games like Star Wars Operation, if I’m being honest I’m all about the old school! For me there’s nothing greater than pulling out the old game of Frustration I used to play when I was a wee one – I get some serious nostalgia just thinking about it!

DSC03295

DSC03294

DSC03296

One of my all-time favourites has to be Mouse Trap! I love that building the board is part of the game, and you get a good bit of rivalry and tension going on when one person is responsible for trapping another!

DSC03300

DSC03298

DSC03299I guess what I’m trying to say is that board games are awesome! So next time you’re chilling with family or friends, switch off the TV, put down your phone and settle in for some good, old-fashioned gaming!

I’d love to know about all of your favourite games, or if you hate them altogether, so drop me a comment and let me know!

Thanks for reading, until next time!

SignOff

{Find me on FacebookTwitter and Bloglovin’}

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Oh My, I’m Inspired By Something Beginning With…

    1. Hey! Thanks for the comment! Just looked up Cards Against Humanity and it looks great (and potentially totally inappropriate!) so I’ll have to get it! Thanks for the suggestions!

Leave a Reply

