Homemade Christmas Crackers

20131216_160821I’m attempting to go all Kirstie Allsopp on Christmas this year and do it the homemade way, and one of the projects that I had a lot of fun with was my homemade Christmas crackers. I don’t know about you, but there’s nothing more annoying than a useless cracker prize! Don’t get me wrong, I love the terrible jokes and wearing the silly hat, but I just really don’t need another set of miniature screwdrivers! So by making my own, I was able to choose something I knew we’d all love to go in the crackers…

Sam and his family were clearing out old Christmas things and had a cracker making kit that they didn’t want. Naturally, I was more than happy to take it off of their hands and put it to good use! I used the snaps, hats and jokes from the kit, and used the cracker cut out as a template to make my own.

After cutting out the templates using a craft knife and sticking on the snaps, I tied one end of each of the crackers with ribbon ready to fill them with Christmassy goodness…20131216_15133920131216_153428

There’s one thing that everyone in my house loves at Christmas time and that is Quality Street, so what better treat to hide inside our crackers? I popped a few in each cracker with a hat and a joke, and tied up the end with another ribbon.20131216_153544

I wanted to go for something simple with the decoration, and found some old Christmas cards with a nice greeting inside. I cut out one for each cracker and tied them around with string for a simple, rustic feel.20131216_160940

Cutting out the crackers was pretty time-consuming but it was definitely worth it! They look great sitting on the tree ready for Christmas day!20131218_095336

Have you ever made your own Christmas crackers? What Christmassy crafts have you been getting stuck into this year? Drop a comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

