Oh My I’m Inspired By Something Beginning With…

Letter D

It’s time for the next edition of my alphabet of inspiration, and this time D stands for…dressmaking.

I’ve always had a bit of a creative flair and enjoyed making things, but at school I shunned textiles for the more industrial route of resistant materials. While I do look back and think that textiles would have been maybe a bit more fun, thanks to resistant materials I’ve learnt about dovetail joints and laser cutting and I’m pretty handy with the contents of a tool box. More recently though, I’ve spent time teaching myself how to sew from a pattern, with a little help from Mumma.

I’ve always loved the idea of making my own clothes. For one thing I’d know I’m the only person on the planet with that exact garment, but I also think that you get such a sense of achievement from creating something that passes as wearable in public! My most recent (and most successful) forays into the world of dressmaking have included a tartan dress, a nautical striped pencil skirt and a faux leather skater skirt.DSC03238

I think one of the things that I love most about the tartan dress and faux leather skirt in particular is that they’re bang on trend and could pass for any of the high street brands, but I made them myself at a fraction of the cost! It’s also a great compliment when people comment on them, too!DSC03239

If you’ve never tried sewing from a pattern I’d definitely suggest just getting stuck in a giving it a go! The worst that can happen is that the item is unwearable, and so what? Use a cheap fabric or an old sheet and start with something simple to get the idea of cutting pieces and the terminology of the whole thing. And if it goes wrong, don’t stress, you can always try again! Before you know it you’ll be a total whizz and start adjusting patterns for the perfect garment!DSC03237

I’ve yet to venture into actually making my own patterns, and while the thought is totally scary right now,Β Patternmaking In FashionΒ is safely stored away on my bookshelf for when I finally get the guts! Again, I think it’s important to start with something simple to get the understanding, and slowly work up to more complicated ideas!

Are you a super sewer or a novice waiting to get started? What’s your favourite dressmaking project? Drop a comment and let me know!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

