Homemade Leek & Potato Soup

After making my chicken & leek pie I had plenty of leek left over so I decided to use some of it up in this leek & potato soup.

20131107_132436The recipe was one that actually came with the instructions for my Russell Hobbs blender, and it looked so simple that I couldn’t resist giving it a go!

Ingredients (enough to serve 4)

  • 150g leeks, trimmed
  • 150g potatoes, peeled
  • 2 vegetable or chicken stock cubes (I chose vegetable)
  • 800ml water
  • salt and pepper to taste

20131107_120145First, pop the leek and potato into the blender for a few seconds, until they are ‘lumpy, not mushy’. I might have overdone mine a bit but it didn’t seem to impact on the finished product!

20131107_12030620131107_120439

Transfer them to a pan and add the water and stock cubes.

Bring it to the boil, stirring as you do so. Reduce the heat, cover, and let it simmer for 20 minutes.20131107_121310

Leave to cool for 30 minutes. (This was the perfect opportunity for me to fit in one of Davina McCall’s 30 Minute Workouts – Cardio Box anyone?)

Pop it back in the blender at a high speed until it is smooth and silky.

Return to the pan and heat to serving temperature, but don’t let it boil!

Although it does end up taking quite a long time, the steps to this recipe are really simple – perfect for a cooking novice like me! I served up a portion with some crusty bread for dipping and it was delicious! I’ve saved some to the side in the hope that it will be OK for a second serving tomorrow!

20131107_132420

What are your favourite soup recipes for a warm winter lunch? Have you ever tried a blender recipe for soup before?

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

