Chocolate Eclairs

20130725_151611

Chocolate eclairs have always seemed like a tricky thing to bake, and I can’t count how many times I’ve been told that choux pastry is really difficult! However, I threw caution to the wind and took a stab, using my trusted Be-Ro recipe book!

20130725_152246

After melting the butter and water in a pan until it started to boil, I removed it from the heat a stirred in the flour, mixing it until it formed a smooth ball, and left it to cool.

20130725_152958

One the eggs were whisked and beat into the cooled mixture, it was ready to pipe into little eclair shapes! I was a little uneven with my piping so some of the eclairs were more generous than others, but I’m not going to hold that against myself!

20130725_165313

Although I baked the eclairs for the suggested time of 20 minutes I found that they were a little overdone, but generally pretty good-looking – if anything it’s a lesson learned for next time!

Once they had cooled I sliced into the side, filled with generous amounts of fresh whipped cream and topped with delicious melted chocolate!

20130725_193545

Some of them are a little dry around the edges due to overbaking, but they’re still really tasty! A great treat!

Leave a Reply

