Half Marathon Training – Week 01

trainers

Everyone keeps asking how my half marathon training is going, and in honesty it’s really hard! I went for my first run on Tuesday, and I could sound really professional and say that I did 2 miles of interval training, when really I just couldn’t run for more than a few minutes without having to slow to a walk!

My training plan includes short distance runs on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday and a long slow distance on Sunday, split with kettle bell swings to improve my strength. Oh, and not to forget my daily plank!

Thursday’s session wasn’t great, but I’m calling it a learning experience! My phone couldn’t connect to GPS so my Runkeeper app kept telling my I had travelled “zero point zero miles with an average pace of zero minutes” – Not ideal when your busting a sweat and have no idea if you’re running too fast! I cut the session short and considered it a lesson.

Saturday brought it’s own problems with breathing difficulties and chest pains, so again I cut the session short and will take it easy until I see the doctor.

I can’t say I’ve been looking forward to my running sessions – I’m still with the attitude of wanting to get them over and done with, but as much as I feel I struggle with running, I am such a keen walker! I could walk for miles and miles and just enjoy it, so Sunday’s LSD (Long Slow Distance!) session was my favourite part of the week, and it was great to finish on a positive!

Hopefully next week will be more of a success story with a more positive outlook on the future of my running abilities!

Why am I running the Tonbridge Half Marathon?

This is all about fighting poverty and injustice, and supporting Oxfam in the incredible work that they do to make the world a better place. So, please, if you could visit my JustGiving page and donate as generously as you can, together we can literally change lives. One billion people go to bed hungry every night. I’m not OK with that and you shouldn’t be either, so let’s join together and raise as much as we can!

One thought on “Half Marathon Training – Week 01

  1. You can do it! You’ll be so surprised how quickly you start to improve, and then you’ll look back at this week and be amazed how far you’ve come. For a bit of inspiration check out Bangs and a Bun or Spikes and Heels – she’s a badass who’s all about fitness and it might help! I’d also recommend parkrun – it’s a 5k on a Saturday morning that gets timed for you. We sometimes go to the one in Leeds and it’s so much easier than a normal 5k. I’m not sure why – maybe it’s my stubbornness that won’t allow me to walk as much when other people can see! Plus, you feel super smug on the way home having already run a 5k on a Saturday and it only being 10am! http://www.parkrun.org.uk/events/events/ xxx

Leave a Reply

